Content Ad 002

Daily Current Affairs 22 December 2019: Your guide for daily General Knowledge Preparation

Dear Readers,

This post contains important current affairs of 22 December 2019. It includes all Major National, International, Business and Sports related current affairs of 22 December 2019. A brief explanation of every current affair is provided to further enhance your general knowledge. Once you have gone through these current affairs we would recommend to you to try 22 December 2019 Current affairs test.

National News

1. Three Capital of Andhra Pradesh

  • Legislative Capital: Amaravati
  • Executive Capital: Visakhapatnam
  • Judicial Capital: Kurnool

2. LS Sheshagiri Rao passes away

  • Kannada writer and critic L.S. Sheshagiri Rao passed away.
  • L. S. Sheshagiri Rao, often referred to as LSS, was an Indian writer and academic specializing in Kannada literature. He wrote an English-Kannada dictionary that is a standard reference text for students. Rao worked for government colleges before gaining a position at Bangalore University’s English department.

3. GST on lottery

  • GST Council has fixed a uniform tax rate of 28% on both state-run and private Lottery.
  • GST Council is the governing body of GST having 33 members. The council is headed by the union finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman assisted with the finance minister of all the states of India. The GST council is responsible for any revision or enactment of rule or any rate changes of the goods and services in India.

4. National Mathematics Day

  • The Indian government declared 22 December to be National Mathematics Day.
  • This was announced by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on 26 February 2012 at Madras University, during the inaugural ceremony of the celebrations to mark the 125th anniversary of the birth of the Indian mathematical genius Srinivasa Ramanujan.
  • Srinivasa Ramanujan FRS was an Indian mathematician who lived during the British Rule in India.

International News

1. New Star ‘Sharjah’

  • The International Astronomical Union (IAU) announced the names of the newly discovered stars and planets.
  • Name ‘Sharjah’ was chosen for a star.
  • Name ‘Barjeel’ was chosen for a planet.

2. Currency Eco

  • Eight West African countries have agreed to change the name of their common currency to Eco.
  • These countries are Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

3. Ethiopia launched its first satellite

  • Ethiopia launched its first satellite ‘Ethiopian Remote Sensing Satellite’ at a space station in China.
  • Ethiopia Capital: Addis Ababa; Currency: Birr.

Business News

1. Asian Development Bank with Madhya Pradesh Government

  • Asian Development Bank and Government of India has signed a $490 million loan for Madhya Pradesh’s state Road Infrastructure.
  • Governor: Lalji Tandon || Capital: Bhopal || Chief minister: Kamal Nath

2. ASSOCHAM Annual Conference

  • PM Modi addresses Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM) annual conference in Delhi.
  • Theme: ‘New India Aspiring for a USD 5 trillion economy’.
  • The Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India is one of the apex trade associations of India. The organisation represents the interests of trade and commerce in India, and acts as an interface between issues and initiatives.
  • Headquarters location: New Delhi || Founded: 1921

3. New Director of National Science Foundation

Content Ad 03
  • Indian-American computer scientist Sethuraman Panchanathan will be appointed as the new Director of National Science Foundation.
  • The National Science Foundation is a United States government agency that supports fundamental research and education in all the non-medical fields of science and engineering. Its medical counterpart is the National Institutes of Health.
  • Agency executive: France A. Córdova, Current Director || Headquarters: Alexandria, Virginia, United States

Sports News

1. Test XI of the decade (2010s)

  • Cricket Australia have named their Test XI of the decade (2010s), naming Team India captain Virat Kohli as the skipper of the side.
  • While Kohli is the only Indian in the XI, the side has three Australian and four English cricketers. Former South Africa captain AB de Villiers has been named as the wicketkeeper of the side.
  • Cricket Australia, formerly known as the Australian Cricket Board, is the governing body for professional and amateur cricket in Australia. It was originally formed in 1905 as the ‘Australian Board of Control for International Cricket’. It is incorporated as an Australian Public Company, limited by guarantee.
  • CEO: Kevin Roberts || Women’s coach: Matthew Mott || Men’s coach: Justin Langer || Chairman: Earl Eddings || Headquarters: Melbourne, Australia

2. ICC with Unicef

  • International Cricket Council has announced its partnership with UNICEF for Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.
  • The International Cricket Council is the global governing body of cricket. It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from Australia, England and South Africa. It was renamed as the International Cricket Conference in 1965, and took up its current name in 1989.
  • Chairperson: Shashank Manohar || CEO: Manu Sawhney || Headquarters: Dubai, United Arab Emirates || Founded: 15 June 1909

Try some Quiz Questions now: Current Affairs Quiz,22 December

Related Posts

Daily Current Affairs 22 December 2019 Current Affairs Quiz 22 December 2019 Current Affairs Infographic

Content Ads 02 Sample 01

Join our Free TELEGRAM GROUP for exclusive content and updates

Rsz 1rsz Close Img

Join Our Newsletter

Get the latest updates from our side, including offers and free live updates, on email.

Rsz Undraw Envelope N8lc Smal
Rsz 1rsz Close Img
Free Live Webinar Update