List of Cabinet Ministers(As on 01/07/2017)

List of Cabinet Ministers in India is an important static GK topic for MBA, Bank PO and other competitive exams. You can expect at least 1 to 2 questions from Cabinet Ministers in India in any competitive exams.
Important Points regarding Union Council of Ministers

  • Union Council of Ministers exercises the executive powers.
  • It is composed of all the Union Ministers – Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State and Deputy Ministers.
  • Cabinet Ministers are those who are members of the Cabinet and are real policy-makers of the Council.

Important News regarding Union Council of Minsiters

  • Union Environment Minister Anil Madhav Dave died of a cardiac arrest, Dr. Harshvardhan was given additional charge of the Ministry of Environment and Forests.
  • Mega Cabinet Reset
  1. Prakash Javadekar got HRD portfolio, Smriti Irani moved to textiles.
  2. Venkaiah Naidu got Information & Broadcasting, retained Urban Development.
  3. Ananth Kumar got Parliamentary Affairs Ministry from Naidu

Minority affairs minister Najma Heptulla was dropped from the cabinet as her age was not on her side as she turned 76 in April.

S.NOName of MinisterPortfolioParty
1.Narendra ModiPrime Minister, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of SpaceBJP
2.Raj Nath SinghMinister of Home AffairsBJP
3.Sushma SwarajMinister of External Affairs, Ministry of Overseas Indian AffairsBJP
4.Arun JaitleyMinister of Finance, Minister of Defence, Minister of Corporate AffairsBJP
5.Venkaiah NaiduMinister of Information and BroadcastingBJP
6.Suresh PrabhuMinister of RailwaysBJP
7.Venkaiah NaiduMinister of Urban Development, Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty AlleviationBJP
8.Nitin GadkariMinister of Road Transport and Highways, Minister of ShippingBJP
9.Ravi Shankar PrasadMinister of Law and JusticeBJP
10.Ravi Shankar PrasadMinister of Electronics and Information TechnologyBJP
11.Ram Vilas PaswanMinister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public DistributionLJP
12.Kalraj MishraMinister of Micro, Small and Medium EnterprisesBJP
13.Maneka GandhiMinister of Women and Child DevelopmentBJP
14.Ananth KumarMinister of Parliamentary AffairsBJP


Ananth KumarMinister of Chemicals and FertilizersBJP
16.Ashok Gajapathi Raju PusapatiMinister of Civil AviationTDP
17.Anant GeeteMinister of Heavy Industries and Public EnterprisesShiv Sena
18.Harsimrat Kaur BadalMinister of Food Processing IndustriesSAD
19.Chaudhary Birender SinghMinister of SteelBJP
20.BandaruDattatreyaMinister of Labour and EmploymentBJP
21.JualOramMinister of Tribal AffairsBJP
22.Radha Mohan SinghMinister of Agriculture and Farmers WelfareBJP
23.Thawar Chand GehlotMinister of Social Justice and Empowerment       BJP
24.Prakash JavadekarMinister of Human Resource Development       BJP
25.Harsh VardhanMinister of Science and Technology       BJP
26.Jagat Prakash NaddaMinister Of Health and Family Welfare       BJP
27.Smriti IraniMinister of Textiles       BJP
28.D. V. Sadananda GowdaMinister of Statistics and Programme Implementation       BJP

List of Minister of State


S.NOName of MinisterPortfolioParty
1.BandaruDattatreyaLabour and Employment
(Independent Charge)
2.Harsh VardhanEnvironment, Forest and Climate Change
(Independent Charge)
3.Dharmendra PradhanPetroleum and Natural Gas
(Independent Charge)
4.Mukhtar Abbas NaqviMinority Affairs
(Independent Charge)
5.Faggan Singh KulasteHealth & Family WelfareBJP
6.Babul SupriyoHeavy Industries & Public EnterprisesBJP
7.Ajay TamtaTextilesBJP
8.Giriraj SinghMicro, Small & Medium EnterprisesBJP
9.Arjun Ram MeghwalFinance, Corporate AffairsBJP
10.Hansraj GangaramAhirHome AffairsBJP
11.Jayant SinhaCivil AviationBJP
12.Ramesh ChandappaJigajinagiDrinking Water & SanitationBJP
13.Jitendra SinghDevelopment of North Eastern Region
(Independent Charge)
14.Jitendra SinghPrime Minister’s Office, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of SpaceBJP
15.Subhash BhamreDefenceBJP
16.P P ChoudharyLaw & Justice, Electronics & Information TechnologyBJP
17.Kiren RijijuHome AffairsBJP
18.Ramdas AthawaleSocial Justice & EmpowermentBJP
19.Anupriya PatelHealth & Family WelfareApna Dal
20.Nirmala SitharamanCommerce and Industry
(Independent Charge)
21.Shripad Yasso NaikAAYUSH
(Independent Charge)
22.Ram Kripal YadavRural DevelopmentBJP
23.Vijay GoelYouth Affairs and Sports
(Independent Charge)
24.Vijay GoelWater Resources, River Development & Ganga RejuvenationBJP
25.Mukhtar Abbas NaqviMinority Affairs
(Independent Charge)
26.Mukhtar Abbas NaqviParliamentary AffairsBJP
27.M. J. AkbarExternal AffairsBJP
28.Manoj SinhaRailwaysBJP
29.Manoj SinhaCommunications
(Independent Charge)
30.SS AhluwaliaAgriculture & Farmer Welfare, Parliamentary AffairsBJP
31.Mahesh SharmaCulture, Tourism
(Independent Charge)
32.Rajiv Pratap RudySkill Development & Entrepreneurship
(Independent Charge)
33.Piyush GoyalPower, Coal, New and Renewable Energy, Mines.
(Independent Charge)

Pin It on Pinterest