Now let’s have a look at the Nine Union Territories of India with their governing bodies It is important to note that Union Territories have a different governing structure.

They are under direct control of the central government and the President of India appoints an Administrator or Lieutenant Governor for each Union Territories. But some Union Territories in India  have a local legislature and a chief minister (such as Delhi or Chandigarh)  are somewhat different as they get to choose their own elected legislative assemblies and the executive councils of ministers with partially state-like function.

The Union Territories of India becomes even more important. These may be asked in both written exams and interviews. We have listed below the same in an easy manner to revise. Here we have provided the capital of the union territory of India and governing bodies with their position to remember easily


Here’s the list of all Indian Union Territories with their capitals and governing bodies


S.NOUnion territory (in alphabetical order)Capital CityMinister/ Governor – Political party (if applicable)PartyLt. Governors & Administrators
1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort BlairBhishnu Pada Ray BJPDevendra Kumar Joshi
2ChandigarhChandigarhMayor –Asha Kumari JaswalV. P. Singh Badnore (Ex-officio)  (Administrator)
3Dadra and Nagar HaveliSilvassaNatu Bhai G PatelPrafulKhoda Patel (Administrator)
4Daman and DiuDamanLalu Bhai PatelPrafulKhoda Patel (Administrator)
5LakshadweepKavarattiMo. Fazal(NCP)Dineshwar Sharma(Administrator)
6Delhi – National Capital TerritoryDelhiArvind Kejriwal(AAP)Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
7Puducherry (Pondicherry)PondicherryV. Narayanasamy (INC)Kiran Bedi  (Lieutenant Governor)
8.LadakhLeh and KargilJamyang Tsering Namgyal(BJP)Radha Krishna Mathur
9.Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (May–October)
Jammu (Nov-April)
VacantGirish Chandra Murmu


(AAP)AamAadmi Party
 (INC)Indian National Congress
(NCP)Nationalist Comgress Party




Join Our Newsletter

Get the latest updates from our side, including offers and free live updates, on email.


Join our Free TELEGRAM GROUP for exclusive content and updates